I am terrible at waking up in the morning, and I take forever to get ready. This spells disaster when I leave the house at around 7am, but can’t get myself up much earlier than 6.30.

My mental faculties are not 100% at this time in the morning, but I need something in my belly to get me through the 40 minute drive and 15 minute cycle that get me to work.

Being in a rush and eating breakfast spells disaster, resulting in terrible breakfast decisions (or taking too long and running late).

To combat my morning indecision, I’ve started making smoothies for myself and the spouse. I can make them on a Sunday night when I have my wits about me, and I need zero brain space to take it from the fridge and pour on a Monday morning. Bonus, I make so much there’s enough for the whole week!

My favourite so far is my Get Up and Go Breakfast Smoothie. This recipe makes up to 1.5 litres of yummy goodness to store in the fridge, and is a great way to start the day quickly with something other than toast. It contains Coconut Milk, Banana, Mango, Mixed Berries, Avocado and Spinach. Caveat – I have a really old blender, so I sometimes have to make it in two batches if I need to add a lot of water to the mix.

In this recipe, it doesn’t matter if the fruit is fresh or frozen – I tend to use frozen as I can buy in bulk for a reasonable price, and store it for longer. If my bananas are about to go off I chop them up and freeze them in some Tupperware to use at a later date. Suitable for vegetarians and Vegans (with no yoghurt).

breakfastsmoothie-header

To get a jump start on your day you need:

1 can Coconut milk (400 ml)

250 ml water / equivalent ice-cubes if using fresh fruit

2 ripe Bananas

2 cups Berries

2 cups Mango / 1 fresh mango

1 cup washed Spinach leaves

1 chopped Avocado – skin and seed removed

Optional- to sweeten your smoothie:

1 tsp Truvia /equivalent measure of alternative sweetener

1 small pot yoghurt, any flavour will do

Quick cook rolled oats  for an extra energy boost.

 

To make this breakfast treat you have to:

  1. Add coconut milk to blender.
  2. Add softer/fresh fruit first (one type at a time) to get a good smoothie consistency. Mix on high for 1 minute per fruit.
  3. Add frozen fruit (one type at a time). Mix on high for 1 minute per fruit.

Add water where necessary to give the mix a nice consistency, add ice if using only fresh fruit.

  1. Add spinach. Mix on high for 1 minute.
  2. Add avocado. Mix on high for 1 minute.
  3. Add sweetener (and/or yoghurt), mix on high for 1 minute.
  4. If adding oats add them last, and extra water to keep a smooth consistency (no-one likes a sludgy smoothie).
  5. Serve in a glass, or store in a jar in the fridge for up to one week.

Note: If adding oats, this smoothie tastes best when made the night before and left in the fridge.

smoothie-940301_1280

Happy Blending!

 

 

