I’ve been making a lot of Mexican-inspired food recently. I’ve noticed when a recipe is ‘bean’ based, or has a lovely thick spicy sauce, it sometimes needs a little something extra to freshen up the flavour. A common ingredient in fresh Mexican street food is pickled onions. I don’t like the mini pearl onions you can buy in the shops, but lots of home recipes require waiting a long time before you can eat your picked treats! I don’t always need a store of pickled onions in my fridge, and I can’t make them the night before (Read: I’m not that organised/I don’t plan meals that far ahead). So hurrah for my Speedy Pickled Onions!
This recipe takes just 5 minutes to prep, and a mere 30 minutes to pickle (though you can wait longer for a more intense flavour if you like). Extra bonus, you make it up straight into the storage jar so there’s minimal cleaning up afterwards. I used a Kilner jar, but an old jam jar works just as well.


To pickle your onions you will need:

1 medium red onion, finely sliced into rings

1/2 tsp sugar

1/2 tsp salt

6-8 peppercorns

Up to 1 cup cider/white wine vinegar

3 cups water

Optional:

You can also add chopped garlic, chilli and herbs to match your dish or palate.

 

To prep your pickles you have to:

1. Boil water in a kettle.

2. Place chopped onions into a colander of sieve and blanche with boiled water by slowly pouring evenly over the onions. Leave to drain.

3. Add vinegar, salt, sugar and peppercorns to a storage jar and stir until dissolved.

4. Add optional ingredients if using.

5. Add onions and stir. Top up with vinegar if the mix doesn’t quite cover the onions.

6. Leave in the fridge for 30 mins, and serve!

Happy pickling!