As I’ve mentioned before, I love Mexican food. I especially love it when my spouse cooks, and his pièce de résistance is Fajitas. The key ingredient behind his success is the seasoning used, and the sauces added to the wraps. The Spousal Twist is to add whatever veg/meat we have available in the fridge…much like our lasagne! His favourite ingredient is broccoli, but this is quite an acquired taste in this type of dish, so feel free to leave this ingredient out!

imageedit__8835271291

Christmas 2016 was the year I rekindled my relationship with turkey (I was never a fan, until I discovered it ‘baked in the bag’!) So this week we bought some turkey mince to see what we could make with it…hubs didn’t disappoint. I present, Joe’s Turkey Fajitas.

turkey-fajitas

To taste this turkey dish you’ll need:

4 plain wraps

400g turkey mince

1 pepper

1 red onion

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 tbsp Fajita Spice Mix (we used a BBQ spice mix from a Mexican stall)

Black pepper

Salt

Drizzle olive oil/alternative

Optional:

Broccoli, chopped (amount to taste!)

1 handful of Mushrooms, chopped

To serve:

Sour Cream

Pickled red onion

Chipotle Sauce

Salsa/Mexican Ketchup

Cheese (Cheddar is my favourite, but any will do!)

img_6406

To rustle up these wraps you have to:

  1. Get a deep, non-stick frying pan (we use a sort-of wok), heat on medium high (not too high!) and drizzle with oil.
  2. Add the chopped veg to the pan and fry for a few minutes to soften. Add a pinch of salt and pepper.
  3. Add the mince, fry for 7 mins, or until cooked through.
  4. Add your fajita spice of choice, mix in well.
  5. Heat Fajita wraps (30 seconds in the microwave should do it).
  6. Serve Fajita Mix in a dish, and make up the wraps as you go!
  7. Serve with Guacamole, Sour Cream, Chipotle Sauce and pickled red onion.

Viva La Mexicana!

 

