We all have mornings where we feel like getting out of bed is the most we can accomplish that day. That was me yesterday; I had a severe case of the Mondays (and a 2-day prosecco hangover, oops!). Driving to work used most of my sensible brain space, and the rest of the day I was on auto pilot; coffee kept me propped up but could only do so much.

When this happens at the beginning of the week I know I need to take action, if I want to be a productive human for the next 4 days that is. I need high energy food to nibble on through the day that won’t cause me to peak and then crash.

Enter my quick and fruity energy balls. They combine the high energy goodness of oats and peanuts, with the sweetness of honey, raisins, cranberries and coconut. And the extra treat for my taste buds is dark chocolate. Caveat: these aren’t mega healthy, as there are quite a lot of natural sugars and fats in here; but they have a lot less (refined) sugar than a chocolate bar, and the peanuts and oats make sure you don’t crash. That, and they are just as satisfying as other more processed sweet treats.

These snacks take about 10 minutes to make, have minimal tidying up, and can be ready to go immediately. What’s not to love?

 

headers-food

To whip up these balls of energetic goodness you will need:

250ml (1 cup) porridge oats

80 ml (1/3 cup) peanut butter (smooth or crunchy, your choice!)

80ml (1/3 cup) raisins

60ml (1/4 cup) honey

60ml (1/4 cup) cranberries

60ml (1/4 cup) dark chocolate chips

2tbsp shredded/desiccated coconut

1 tsp vanilla extract

quick-and-fruity

 

To roll up these balls you have to:

1. Combine honey, peanut butter and vanilla essence in a bowl to make a runny paste.

2. Add raisins, cranberries and coconut. Stir to cover evenly in the paste.

3. Add the oats and stir so they’re even distributed in the mixture. If it looks like the oats aren’t sticking add a splodge more honey until you get a nice consistency (I find it depends on what brand of oats I use how much honey is required).

4. Add chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.

5. You now have two choices- if you need energy now you can roll up the balls, or shape them into bars, and they’re good to go (you might need a splash of water on your hands to get them to hold their shape). If you have more time, put the mixture in a covered bowl the fridge for at least half an hour, then shape into balls (or bars) with your hands.

Go forth and be energetic!

quick-and-fruity-1