My new love! salty popcorn. My spouse prefers sweet, and this is a major point of contention in our relationship. Fortunately, I’ve invested in the raw kernels and now I can pop as much as I like, and we make our own flavours.

Salted popcorn is my favourite snack. My spouse, however, prefers sweet, and this is a major point of contention in our relationship. Fortunately, I’ve invested in the raw kernels and now I can pop as much as I like, cheaply, and we make our own flavours.

All these new ‘gourmet’ popcorn companies charge a small fortune for this kind of snack. I say ‘gourmetschmormet’, this is something that you can easily make yourself (you don’t even need a popcorn machine) for a fraction of the price.

My new favourite is Rosemary and Sea-Salt popcorn, and the recipe is super simple. If you have a popcorn maker you won’t need to faff with the microwave, but I don’t have one that works, so this is my method!

 

To make this ‘gourmet’ snack you need:

Popcorn kernels

Sea-Salt, 1 tsp

Fresh Rosemary sprig, chopped

Pestle and Mortar (or a plastic bag and a rolling pin)

Olive oil (spray) 1/2 Tsp

popcornheader

To pop this corn you have to:

  1. Put Salt and Rosemary in your pestle and mortar (or a plastic bag) and grind until mixed (roll with a pin until crushed, shake the bag).
  2. In a microwaveable bowl place a tablespoon of kernels and drizzle 1/2 Tsp (max) onto the kernels and add half the salt and rosemary. Cover with clingfilm and poke a few small holes with a fork. Then cover the bowl with baking paper. Alternatively, you can put the corn in a paper bag and pop in the oven, but I don’t have any!
  3. Whizz your corn in the microwave for up to 3 minutes on high (my microwave is 800 watts, so it will take less time with a higher powered microwave!)
  4. Place your popped corn in a large bowl lightly spray with oil if it isn’t well coated.
  5. Sprinkle with remaining salt and rosemary.

Happy Popping!

